Yarn support: that’s the way to do it

ImageRarely have I encountered a business relationship that’s as kind and respectful as that between knitting designer and yarn company. When you design a sweater, yarn companies typically provide gratis the yarn that you need to knit the sample – which in and of itself is a pretty sweet deal. But on top of that, I have had universally good experiences dealing with yarn companies, from Malabrigo to Cascade to Berroco to KnitPicks. (Stacey, who runs KnitPicks’ Independent Designer Program, is a particular standout.) All have responded quickly and courteously and have even offered great ideas.

Even so, few can compare to Yarns of Italy, a relatively new yarn distributor that develops and purchases yarns in Italy and then sells them in the US for great prices. They have been selling on Etsy for a while, but more recently decided to go more big time. If you have been to TNNA in the last year or so, you have probably seen them.

In fact, to fill out their TNNA booth, the company held a design competition not long ago, asking designers to create something with each of their yarn lines. I was lucky enough to get to do the design for their Volute line, a gorgeous cotton-acrylic blend. (And let me tell you: gorgeous and cotton-acrylic blend are not phrases I typically put together.) The zippered cardigan above, called Velluto, is what I came up with.

All along the way, Kim (one of YOI’s owners, and the creative director) was a delight to work with. She has a whip-smart sense of humor and an easy manner, but is also very professional at all those times where that’s needed.

During the most recent TNNA, Kim even posted a photo of their friend, a handsome Sicilian gentleman, wearing my sweater. In all, I got the overwhelming message that these people love good design and want to do whatever they can to support it.

And then yesterday, I was looking at their just-launched web site, and saw that they had named one of the colorways in their Innamorata line after me! Innamorata is a luscious merino that comes in two weights and a gorgeous palette. Each color is named for a woman that the YOI owners like, and I got to be on the list! In fact, I’m light gray, since that’s the color of the sweater I designed for them. It is such a lovely and generous gesture. (My mother immediately ordered a sweater’s worth, of course. :) )

You’ll definitely see me designing more with their yarns….

19 thoughts on “Yarn support: that’s the way to do it

  1. SO PROUD and TELLING EVERYONE!!! Merm
    (“Innamorata is a luscious merino that comes in two weights and a gorgeous palette”… All the Green Women do, dah-ling)

  2. How fabulous! Imagine having a yarn named for you!

    Great design, too, and nice to learn about an interesting yarn company. I’m off to check it out.:)

  3. You are living the dream, sweet baby! I am bursting with pride for you and can’t wait for the next revelation. You ARE an innamorata!

  4. Congratulations, Elizabeth! That’s wonderful. It’s always nice to find out about a new yarn company, too. Thanks to you, I’ve got a few different colours of Volute coming my way, as I just had to check it out (being ever in search of good yarns for a warm climate and/or baby/child things). You enabler, you. :P

  5. What a great company! That is great and I LOVE this sweater – it is really innovative in design and I think this is something my very picky husband might like, ha ha ;) LOVE it!!!

Leave a Reply

