How to Teach Beginning Knitting

I love to teach and knitters are some of the most fun students I’ve ever had. No one falls asleep in a knitting class. People remember their homework. Usually. Knitters want to be there.

Having taught both history and knitting for more than a decade, I realized I had a lot I could share with other knitting teachers about how to teach a class. So about 18 months ago, I started periodically offering teaching modules — detailed guides on how to teach different knitting classes. Each includes a pattern that the teacher can use as a class project.

My latest offering is one I’ve been wanting to write for a while: How to Teach Beginning Knitting. I’m going to offer several versions of this module, actually — this version is for a three-session class, but I’d like to offer modules for shorter and longer courses, too.

The document includes the class project pattern (in this case, an ingenious hat that gets students started knitting back and forth, and then switches them to in-the-round knitting on circulars), and also eight pages of step-by-step instructions about how to prepare for the class and how to walk the students gradually from casting on, through the knit stitch, knitting in the round, the purl stitch, measuring gauge, and decreasing.

The guide also prompts you to think through your particular strengths as a teacher and provides suggestions on how to manage difficult classroom situations. (May you never have one — I rarely have.)

I hope this latest teaching module empowers even more of you to enter the wonderful world of teaching others to knit. It’s an extremely rewarding craft in and of itself.

8 thoughts on “How to Teach Beginning Knitting

  1. I’ve faved it in Ravelry. Sounds fab!
    I’m keen to teach knitting – I think it would be really fun. Can’t get to it yet, just have to wait till I can get out in the evenings without a toddler in tow….
    But then….I’ll dig this out of my faves. Thanks!

    • Thanks, Libby! I really hope you do get to teach some knitting classes once your little guy is a bit older. I absolutely love it. And the module (and probably a few more by then) will be here when you need it. :)

  2. Elizabeth,
    Congrats on your new product. It looks great, I may just have to buy it for a tuneup :)
    The hat looks really great on you, perfect color.
    knit on, latifa

    • Thanks for the kind words, Latifa. I’m sure I have a lot to learn from you about teaching. How do you like my school-marmish expression in the second photo? I thought it was hilarious so had to include it. :)

  3. I’m totally buying this to help me with my stupid Michaels certification. It’s just what I need! Structure! Somehow “I know what I’m doing” won’t fly with them.

    • I’m so glad you can get that kind of use out of it – no need to reinvent the wheel, I say. Instead, look at someone else’s wheel and then modify it to suit your needs.

Leave a Reply

