Design angst

I have been knitting for a long time (learned a quarter century ago – gulp – have been knitting seriously for 15 years).

But it took the recent fiber arts revolution for me to become a Knitter of Courage. I have slavishly followed other people’s patterns for years, and the most that I got out of reading Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitting without Tears the first time was a dramatic loosening of my gauge.

Over the last five years, as I have read other knitters’ blogs, listened to their podcasts, and seen their innovative designs on Ravelry, I have been freed. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of knitters out there who have been doing this craft for far less time than I have, but who have already ventured into beautiful, amazing, creative designs of their own.

It’s my turn.

I have wanted to be That Knitter for a while now, but my full-time job (as a history professor) and my small child have this funny way of sucking all the time out of my day. Not to mention that by the time I sit down to knit, I generally only have half a synapse firing, which means that someone else’s pattern of straightforward stockinette looks mighty good right about then.

But enough. I want to infuse more of my life with all things creative and tactile. I want to spend less time in my head and more in my hands. I’m going to make it happen, damn it.

So right now I’m in the middle of making up my first two original designs. One will take a while: it’s a stole I’m designing for my mom that I think will be really stunning. But it’s a big project and I don’t expect to finish that for another several months.

The other design, as I mentioned in my previous post, is for a toddler jacket/cardigan that has western-shirt detailing. Don’t know quite what inspired that idea – I mean, I do live in Texas, but I am SO not a cowgirl. Let’s just say that this will be an Austin-style western shirt, not a Plano-style western shirt. If you know anything about Austin, you get the idea.

One thought on “Design angst

  1. Hi, Elizabeth–

    Nice to see your new knitting blog. I love the graphic at the top, and your title. Looking forward to the designs–Austin or Plano:)

    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

