Decisions, decisions

obsessively fashioned, stranded hat hem

obsessively fashioned, stranded hat hem

As I get close to the finish line on the prototype for my first original design, I’ve run up against a Big Philosophical Question: How do you achieve the best balance between simplicity of instructions and perfection in design?

I’m finding that a lot of the little details and flourishes in my design are tricky to describe, and definitely not beginner fare. I like the way they make the finished garment look, but I worry that if I rack up to many of those tricky little details, I’m going to complicate the design right out of the market for most knitters.

Ideally, perhaps, a great design achieves the most beautiful effects with maximum simplicity. Well, I’m going to see how well the fiddly details fare. I think they’re worth it.

Leave a Reply

