ETA

In the comments on the previous post, Sara posted the very helpful suggestion that I soak my reeking crocheted bag in vinegar, borax, or Oxyclean, and then wash it with regular detergent. (Thanks, Sara, for giving my bag a brief clemency!)

This technique may very well work 99.9% of the time, but even after this treatment my bag still made me want to retch every time I got within a foot of it.

Into the trash can it went. It’s the first time I’ve ever just tossed a finished object. It only took me four hours to make, though, so I’m not sweating it.

To console myself, I immediately got out this luscious little Noro tidbit:

Several months ago, I had picked up three skeins of Matsuri (87% cotton, 13% wool, 100% gorgeous Noro dye work) for some unknown thing or other. OK, I probably just got it because it’s purty and I can’t resist lime green.

So this is going to be the new mesh grocery bag for my son’s teacher. All signs point to it not stinking.

2 thoughts on “ETA

  1. Yes, I should have mentioned that! Unfortunately, I have no idea what the yarn was, as it was gifted to me by a friend and probably purchased years ago. It was a cotton rag yarn. Kind of looked like pulped newspaper.

Leave a Reply

