camp envy

Oh dear. It has been a while, hasn’t it? I feel like I’m calling that great aunt that I should have called months ago. Sorry, great auntie Mame. I’ll call more often. Really.

Anyway, on to more exciting topics than abject apologies for missed blogging. Have you been on the main page at Ravelry lately? One of the site’s founders, Jess, wrote there about the upcoming Squam Art Workshops. There is something about those photos of the campfire, the woods, the rocking chair, the dock… it makes me yearn to be in the woods knitting.

For the first time in my life, I want to go camping.

I can’t go to the Squam workshops, but I have been trying to find a reasonable substitute. I cannot quite recall how I found this, but oh, was I happy when I stumbled upon Fiber College. I learned that this is a workshop that happens every September in Searsport, Maine. Classes focus on anything hands-on with fiber: spinning, weaving, dyeing, knitting, crochet, etc.

The best part? They’re taking applications from people who would like to teach classes (through March 14). I submitted a couple of class ideas and am keeping my fingers crossed. One class would focus on how to make closures for cardigans when you don’t want buttons (i.e., how to sew in a zipper or snaps, how to make those frog closures, etc.). In the other, I would teach people how to do several historical knitting techniques (like naalbinding), and we would discuss some knitting history as we worked.

Don’t you want to come along?

One thought on “camp envy

  1. Pingback: Fiber College, here I come! « Dark Matter Knits

Leave a Reply

