Helloooooo, Elgin

This summer has brought so many exciting fiber opportunities…. You know, that makes it sound like I have been sitting on the couch while Summer has brought me opportunities. What I mean is that I have been chasing down opportunities as if I were a hyena. And some of them have graciously stopped running. Wait…. That’s not the metaphor I wanted. You see: this is why I should only speak literally.

Where am I going tomorrow? The little town of Elgin, TX, known mainly to me heretofore as a producer of delicious, delicious sausage. But recently Elgin also became home to the Texas Fiber Mill, the only place left in Texas that processes animal fiber on a large (well, actually medium-sized) scale.

(For the uninitiated, when I say “processed,” that means cleaning the fleece that just came off the animal — sheep, goat, alpaca, whatever — combing or carding it, dyeing it, spinning it, and plying it. Then it’s yarn.)

The fiber mill was recently bought by a cooperative called Sustainable Fibers and moved to Elgin, which is half an hour east of Austin. They have a lovely new store on Main Street (pictured above) and want to offer all manner of fibery classes. Being the pouncer that I am, I pounced on the possibility of teaching knitting classes there, and they are interested! It looks like I’ll be teaching there every Friday evening for the foreseeable future.

Party! Party! Party!

Oh, and in case you’re wondering about the name of the town (pronounced ELL-ginn) because you think it may have something to do with the Elgin Marbles, those giant chunks of the Parthenon that the British pilfered because apparently the Greeks didn’t know how to take care of their own civilization: you can have this delusion removed by this typically Texas-quaint explanation.

You may also be pleased to know that the following are also bona fide towns in my fair state:

  • Chocolate Bayou
  • Cut and Shoot
  • Gun Barrel City (which I just mistyped as Fun Barrel City)
  • Lolita
  • Muleshoe
  • Oatmeal
  • Pep
  • Tiki Island
  • Twitty

“Don’t mess with Twitty, Texas” doesn’t quite have the same ring to it, does it?

Leave a Reply

