Lace love/hate

Here’s the latest thing off my needles, the Alhambra scarf, designed by Anne Hanson of Knitspot. (I can show it to you because I didn’t design it — weird how that works, isn’t it?) It’s knit out of some lovely KnitPicks Shadow that a thoughtful former student gave to me.

Like so many of Anne’s designs, Alhambra hits that sweet spot where complex-looking lace meets actually-not-so-difficult stitch pattern. Just enough repetition that you don’t have to be a slave to the chart, but just enough variation that you don’t want to cut yourself to death ever so slowly with your thindly thinny little laceweight yarn.

Here’s the thing, though: I’m not a fan of lace, generally speaking. It would seem that in the universe of knitters, this makes me the inhabitant of a remote planet, population 4. Knitters get FREAKY for lace. Even women in their 20s are churning out lace shawls as if they had actually come back into style.

Don’t get me wrong — I kid you lace lovers because I love. And I get the delight in the technical challenge that is lace. My tastes just run on the other end of the spectrum from Super Femme.

But this scarf? It has a different quality that isn’t quite so…. lacy. I think it would be possible for a man to wear it, too. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Lace love/hate

  1. I am totally with you on the lace thing. (Shhh… don’t tell anyone – it’s my guilty secret!) I totally admire the technical skill and intricacy, and could imagine it as a pleasurable process knit, but my personal fashion tastes run to clean graphic lines, and I can never quite bring myself to invest huge amounts of knitting time into something I’d feel silly wearing. There are lace designers who lean more to the clean graphic design, though – Miriam Felton being one that comes to mind.

  2. I agree with this – I enjoy knitting lace, but I’m not a very lacey type. But some lace doesn’t have that look. And re. this scarf, it depends on the man. My husband would never wear it, but then again he only wears black socks all winter long.

  3. I totally agree on the lace thing. I had written the whole genre off as something I would never knit / wear..or at least ’til I turn 80 or something. Then I saw Anne’s designs and she changed my mind a bit – maybe it’s the rectangular shapes and organic, simple motifs. Now I have to admit they are charming to make and I do get the urge every now and then. Re: man question. Some men, maybe. Mine? never. but he’s really restrictive about what he puts on.

Leave a Reply

