Boys’ knitting roundup #3, this time with a prize!

I was lucky enough to get to go to Rhinebeck (aka, the New York Sheep & Wool Festival) again this year. The whole weekend was just beautiful and a lot of fun, so of course I pulled my classic maneuver and snapped precisely two photos during my entire stay.

The first is one of my delightful Cooperative Press booth mates, Andi, showing off the gorgeous yarn dyed by another of our delightful booth mates, Cheryl Potter of Cherry Tree Hill and Potluck Yarn. The second is of a sheep about to get clipped up for show at the festival. No, I don’t know what kind of sheep it is. What, did you come here for information? Silly goose.

*  *  *

But Elizabeth, you may be murmuring to yourself, you lured me here with the promise of another boys’ knitting pattern roundup. And boys’ patterns you shall have, my invisible, murmuring friends. So many this week, in fact, because an entire, fabulous, five-pattern, beachy collection came out recently: Saltwater Knits by Andrea Sanchez. The booklet includes three sweaters, a vest, and a hat – all in a very wide range of sizes (6 months to 12 years) and all suited to boys or girls.

Check out the lovelies:

Aren’t they utterly charming? I am particularly enamored of Lighthouse Keeper, Pacific Grove, and Whale Watcher for their unusual shapes. It’s hard to find sweaters for boys that aren’t just variations on the standard themes, but these are each innovative in their own way – and yet entirely wearable for all that.

Andrea has very kindly offered to give away one free copy of her e-book to a reader of this blog. If you would like a chance to win, please leave a comment below between now and November 1, and I will randomly choose a winner. In your comment, please tell me one of your biggest joys and one of your biggest frustrations in knitting for kids. Please tell me your Ravelry ID as well, if you have one.

7 thoughts on “Boys’ knitting roundup #3, this time with a prize!

  1. Hi! I’m krisluvswool on Rav. What a fab book of patterns. My greatest joy of knitting for kids is getting pictures of their adorableness in lovely knits. My biggest frustration has been parents who don’t seem to appreciate the knitted goodies for their kiddos. Which is why I don’t knit for them 😉 just for their kids! And the other frustration is also with parents– which is that they keep having their kids all at the same time instead of spreading it out for my convenience!

  2. The only thing more gorgeous than that yarn is Andi’s hair, wow. Glad you had a good time at Rhinebeck! Maybe I’ll start saving up to go next year. 🙂

  3. Such nice patterns! I especially like the Whale watcher and Tide pool. For my own kids.
    The most frustrating thing about knitting to children, and particulary to small children, is that they grow too fast. So a 3-month-sized cardi will last for about a month. Second frustration must be wonderful patterns knit up in delicious yarn which is beautiful on photos, but un-wearable for normally active children who plays and get dirty.
    The best part of knitting to children is that, when they love the garment (because you have validated the yarn and colour and form on beforehand), they use it until it fall apart, even though it has lost it’s initial shape. 🙂
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  4. Oh, I do so like that Lighthouse Keeper sweater! Kid’s knits are great because they work up quick but then they out grow them nearly as quick. I hope someday to make it to the Rhinebeck festival, sounds like you had a good time! Ever been to the Hemlock Fiber Fest? They have been growing every year. I’m kestra, by the way, on Ravelry.

  5. The joy is, of course, seeing my kids making my hand-knits! The biggest frustration? So many mittens and, yes, even sweaters lost.

  6. The most frustrating thing is that I am always asking people to send me photos of their little darlings in my hand knit and they rarely do.
    I like the fact that I can make something handmade and there is not a huge time investment involved.

Leave a Reply

