Seismic shifts

quote-properly-practiced-knitting-soothes-the-troubled-spirit-and-it-doesn-t-hurt-the-untroubled-elizabeth-zimmermann-40-91-71

Over the last couple of months since I shut down the Dark Matter Knits podcast, I have received so many kind messages on Ravelry, Facebook, email, and elsewhere. Thank you all so much for your kind support. Although there are many of you I have never met in person, this doesn’t change how much I have deeply appreciated the time you took to do me a kindness.

Now that a little time has passed, I wanted to step back in for a moment to explain what’s happening with my knitwear design line, the podcast, my Stitch Definition business, and a bit of my life in general (though you’ll forgive me, I’m sure, for refraining from too much detail there).

The basic facts are these: my marriage is ending and this has meant that I needed to go back to work full time. Correction: I was already working full time for Stitch Definition, but I needed to work for someone who could pay me a salary and benefits. I was very lucky about a month ago to land the position as the in-house graphic designer at Girl Scouts of Central Texas, an organization whose mission I support wholeheartedly.

This and my altered life circumstances have meant that I have very little time for much else than to work on my Stitch Definition projects in the evenings and on weekends. I have a few knitwear design projects that I’m very excited about continuing, but it is doubtful that I will be releasing many new designs in the foreseeable future. I also will not be teaching knitting classes as much. And, unfortunately, I definitely do not predict a return of my podcast anytime soon.

I say all this mainly because I have received so many messages from you kind-hearted folks, wondering if I’m doing OK. I am—and I thank you very much for your concern. Knitting and spinning (not to mention my more newly acquired hobby, role-playing games) have, as always, proven to be a much-needed salve, as our beloved Elizabeth Zimmermann always said they would.

27 thoughts on “Seismic shifts

  1. Elizabeth, I’m so sorry to hear about the upheaval in your life lately, but I’m glad to hear that you’ve found a job and are keeping busy (even if it is keeping you from your knitting more than you’d like). I hope that you will find a good balance as time passes. I will miss the podcast and all the knowledge you shared, but I understand that it’s much more important for you to focus on your work and family right now. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts!

  2. You are a great blessing to this world. Sometimes, it’s funny how life works. In order to build a new, improved structure, it means you must tear down the old one first . . . which is so hard, but it leads to a better, stronger structure. I’m so glad that you posted an update, and I wish you THE BEST. It’s an honor to know you. I think you’re terrific, and I know I’m not alone. — Lee Bernstein

  3. PS: I just have to tell you: There was one podcast you did where you joked about Soak (or a similar product) being gluten free. I know you received some “feedback” about it, but it was not from me. I laughed my you-know-what off. 🙂

  4. I wish you all the best. I hope you know how many friends and supportes you have out here. And if you ever do a podcast again, please let us all know! ❤️

  5. I am very sorry about your marriage, Elizabeth, and even if it is for the best long term, I know it is hard for everyone right now. I wish all three of you the very best as you head down this (another) new path.

  6. Sorry to hear your personal upheaval but I can say for certain based on personal experience that you get through it with whatever can bring some order to the daily chaos. The immense community of friends you have amassed in this crafty world are pulling for you, and wish you the best in this next chapter. You inspired me to pick up the needles and give this craft a shot and I love it. Many thanks.

  7. When things are in such a state of flux it’s impossible to feel you can be upbeat and informative on a regular and predictable basis. Plus working full time in a different field makes it harder to find time to do all the crafting you want to do. I hope when you settle back into your new routine and feel comfortable enough to start feeling focussed in your creativity you’ll feel more interested in pattern writing/blogging (maybe even podcasting).

    Change is challenging, terrifying and exciting. I have the utmost faith that you will come out the other side stronger and with the firm knowledge of who you are in this new chapter of your life.

  8. Thank you for letting us know what’s been going on with you and sorry you’ve been going through a tough time. All the best as you settle into your new job and life.

  9. Thank you for the update and sharing. We have never met but you were one of the first podcasts I started watching. I always appreciated the combination of intellect and humor that not all podcasters provide. I will keep my eye open for you in the knitting world. I wish you the best both personally and professionally.

  10. Oh, Elizabeth, I’m so sorry to hear this. You are brave to face this all and do the things you know you need to do for the future. Your son is obviously a source of great love for you and great strength, and I’m always happy to see his pictures. I guess I don’t know you *all* that well, but I could not tell anything weird was going on. You have been handling it all with total grace. Of course. 🙂

  11. Hi, I just wanted to let you know that when I found your podcast recently I was thrilled as you provided so much useful information, you were funny and insightful and I loved your thoughts, but when I found out you decided to stop it was a little bit hard to understand as you were so interesting. Thank you so much for letting us all know that you are well. I feel that you are a kindred spirit through the love of knitting. Nevertheless, I understand why you decided to stop podcasting and focus on what you needed to do, and any of us would do the same so I would just like to wish you well and hope that your next venture is successful and brings you happiness. I look forward to seeing more of your designs if/when you decide to return. Thanks again.

  12. It’s not easy to share the details of our lives but I appreciate your candor. The nice thing about the knitting community is that we can be supportive of one another even if we have never met in person. The nice thing about RSS feeders is that we can keep in touch when you have time to update. I hope you find your sea legs, keep calm and knit on. Peace!

  13. Elizabeth, Thank you for sharing. I have so enjoyed your podcast conversations, knitting your designs and meeting and talking with you at Rhinebeck. I wish you all the best and hope you are looking forward to all the wonderful things that are surely in store for you!

  14. Hi Elizabeth– I’m so sorry you’re going through such a tough time, but I’m glad you have been able to find a creative job, and they’re lucky to have you. Take care of your wee self and your little guy.

  15. Hi Elizabeth,
    As the previous posts say, thank you for sharing and best of luck to you. We all miss your podcasts and presence on Ravelry, but I think many of us can relate and are wishing you strength and positive experiences as you go through all this and get used to your new situation. It ain’t easy, girl, but you have a lot of fans and supporters, and people who want to be your best friend even if they have never met you! Hang tough and let us hear from you now and then!

  16. Hi Elizabeth,

    As so many people and above (and I’m sure there will be many more below!) have said, thank you for the update. Thank you for the many entertaining, educational, and friendly hours we have spent together through the podcast.
    Personally I have many many qualities (!), but grace is not one of them. It is one I recognize in others though, and you have it in spades. Marriage break ups are seismic shifts indeed, however they rate on the scale from harmonious to hideous. With the online world such a huge part of our social lives these days, it is a credit to you that you have handled this in the way you have.
    That said – I do hope that you are finding time in amongst all this upheaval, the new job etc, to abandon grace entirely and cry/rage/laugh (as required) with good friends. And perhaps wine!
    Best wishes, for now and the future,
    Amy. (thejasperpatch)

  17. Dear Elizabeth, you are very brave to let us all know of your personal problems; but thank you for being open. I have been very concerned and pray for you daily. I miss you. How lucky are the new people in your life with whom you are now sharing your talents.
    Breathe deeply and keep moving forward.

  18. Hugs to you dear. It is understandable with all the changes that your life has undergone in a short period of time that you don’t have time for certain things. Major changes, of any kind, are always disruptive and sometimes tilt us on our axis. I am glad that you were able to find a position to support yourself. I went through a major life change almost 2 years ago so I do understand. Remember to take time for yourself, it is vitally important to keeping yourself health. Thank you for sharing such a personal thing with us. Keep us posted on how you are doing.

  19. i’ve been through this life change, and I feel for you. I can say that life on this side is much better. It’s good that you are able to support yourself. Take time to adjust, and look forward to doing things that you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

